Welcome to Book Lovers Paradise

Welcome to my attempt at blogging. I am a true to heart bibliophile. Here I will discuss and review books as I read them. You are welcome to do the same. The only rules are no profanity, no politics, no religion, and have fun!

Friday, September 25, 2015

If you like Red from ONCE UPON A TIME, you'll enjoy this book.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published September 22nd 2015 by Kingswell Teen
ISBN 1484727460 (ISBN13: 9781484727461)
edition languageEnglish

Red is 16 and lives with Granny in a cottage in the village, where boarding up the house and hiding during Wolfstime is a means of survival. Red help's Granny with Granny's baked good business, catering as well as door-to-door sales. 

Red has a constant internal battle between her wild side and her strict, overprotective upbringing, and the issue of "control" as she discovers she has a hot temper when the "mean girls" push her too far. ("When we learn to control it, we needn't fear it," Rumpelstiltskin says in the series.) She has flashbacks to her 13th year when she received her cloak and the nickname "Red."

She is plagued by nightmares that she doesn't understand, but the Once Upon a Time fans will recognize them as her wolf side coming out. 

Red balances the difficult times with Granny at home and the girls at school with an emerging and satisfying romance with Peter.

my thoughts:

If you are a fan of the show, or of Red, you will enjoy this book.  I must confess, it was longer than I anticipated and not to quick moving in many spots, however, I enjoyed it and enjoyed Red's character.

I think the TV show misused Red.  Her character should have been so much more.  The Red in this book is multidimensional and fun.  I liked her as much, if not more than the Red on the tv show.

If you want to more more about Red and Granny, as well as other characters in her life...this book is a great start.

My netgalley copy didn't include the cover....Wow, when I saw the cover I thought it perfect!

Thank you to NetGalley and Disney Books for allowing me to read and review this book.

No comments:

Post a Comment