Welcome to Book Lovers Paradise

Welcome to my attempt at blogging. I am a true to heart bibliophile. Here I will discuss and review books as I read them. You are welcome to do the same. The only rules are no profanity, no politics, no religion, and have fun!

Tuesday, September 15, 2015


01_The Sisters of Versailles

The Sisters of Versailles (Mistresses of Versailles, Book One) by Sally Christie

Publication Date: September 1, 2015 Publisher: Atria Books/Simon & Schuster Formats: Ebook, Paperback Pages: 432 ISBN-10: 1501102966 Genre: Historical Fiction READ AN EXCERPT.

  Add to GR Button

   A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed. Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear. Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters: Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne, four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail. Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot - and women - forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters:sweet, naive Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne, will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood; of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.


"A stunning breadth of period detail, offered in a fresh, contemporary voice." Juliet Grey, author of the acclaimed Marie Antoinette trilogy

 "Sally Christie's The Sisters of Versailles is an intriguing romp through Louis XV's France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy."  Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress


ABOUT THE AUTHOR04_Sally Christie_Author

I'm a life-long history buff - and I mean life-long. One of the first adult books I read was Antonia Fraser's masterful Mary, Queen of Scots. Wow! That book just blew my little ten year old mind: something about the way it brought the past right back to life, made it live again on the page. I date my obsession with history to that time, but I'd been writing ("writing") ever since I was able to hold a pencil. If you'd told my 12-year old self that I'd not be a writer when I grew up, I would have laughed you out of the tree house. With a few detours along the way, to work overseas in consulting and development, as well as to go to business school, I've finally come full circle to where I think I should be. I currently live in Toronto and when I'm not writing, I'm playing lots of tennis; doing random historical research (old census records are my favorite); playing Scrabble, and squirrel-watching (the room where I write has French doors leading out to a deck; I avidly follow, and feed, a scruffy gang). For more information please visit Sally Christie's website. You can also find her on Goodreads and Pinterest.

my thoughts:

Fascinating and uniquely compelling novel..  The story of Louis XV of France and his love affair with 4/5 sisters.  All women of the Mailly-Nestle family.  Each woman very different and unique in her own right.   Louis, himself, I found to be weak and malleable.  Was he really this arrogant and childish?  Probably.  The women,  first Louise.  A genuinely sweet, simple young woman who truly loved Louis.  She was ultimately pushed aside.   Next was Pauline.  Vulgar and Vile...I can't say too much about Pauline, but even her sisters refer to her as 'the ugly one'.   Next up Marie-Anne.   A snake...no other words describe this evil woman.  She is hateful, vindictive and just nasty.  Diane is simple.  Sweet, gentle..A poor soul pulled into the decadence of Versailles against her better judgement.  Only pious, self righteous Hortense escapes the bed of Louis.   

This is a fantastic book to read.  I couldn't put it down.  I found each character incredible.   Some I loved, some not so much.  These sisters were part of Louis' life prior to the famous Madame de Pompadour.   I have a hard time keeping the Louis' straight.  I find French monarchic history difficult to follow.  Sally Christie does a wonderful job recreating French life during the years of Louis' reign. (prior to Marie Antoinette and the french revolution but after the famous SunKing.).

Fantastic book.  I loved it and highly recommend it for a fun end of summer read!


Monday, September 14 Review at Reading the Past Tuesday, September 15 Review at Book Lovers Paradise Interview & Giveaway at Mina's Bookshelf Wednesday, September 16 Review at Bookish Thursday, September 17 Review at The Book Binder's Daughter Friday, September 18 Review & Giveaway at The True Book Addict Review at History From a Woman's Perspective Saturday, September 19 Spotlight at Romantic Historical Reviews Monday, September 21 Review at Leeanna.me Tuesday, September 22 Spotlight at Historical Fiction Connection Wednesday, September 23 Review & Giveaway at History Undressed Thursday, September 24 Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past Friday, September 25 Spotlight at Historical Readings & Views Monday, September 28 Review & Giveaway at View From the Birdhouse Tuesday, September 29 Review at So Many Books, So Little Time Thursday, October 1 Review at Genre Queen Review at bookramblings Friday, October 2 Review at Curling Up By the Fire Monday, October 5 Review at Ageless Pages Reviews Tuesday, October 6 Review at Just One More Chapter Wednesday, October 7 Review at The Lit Bitch Thursday, October 8 Interview & Giveaway at Reading Lark Friday, October 9 Review & Giveaway at Historical Fiction Obsession


05_The Sisters of Versailles_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

No comments:

Post a Comment